Workforce Development Committee


The Workforce Development Committee includes representatives from System colleges who convene with the following overarching goals: 

  • Support Board-level priorities and Strategic Plan goals for workforce engagement and partnership development
  • Inform a Systemwide workforce development strategy
  • Coordinate workforce-related asset mapping across the System
  • Establish, maintain, and scale multi-organization/agency partnerships
  • Ensure coordinated responsiveness to industry partners
  • Promote resource-sharing to increase efficiencies and alignment
  • Conduct centralized capacity-building to support college-level initiatives
  • Quickly assess systemwide interest and capacity for pursuing workforce-related grant opportunities
  • Identify opportunities for awarding credit for prior learning for work experiences and industry recognized credentials

Workforce initiatives addressed by the WDC include, but are not limited to, the following areas: 

  • Work-based learning
  • Apprenticeships
  • Workforce education and training
  • Credit for prior learning
  • Business engagement and partnership
  • Career pathways

Questions? Email  

Workforce-Related Groups 

Apprenticeship Community of Practice (ACOP) 

ACOP is a practitioner-driven community that arose to discuss ideas, resources, challenges, and opportunities for collaboration surrounding apprenticeship development among CCCS colleges. 

Meetings are held monthly and facilitated by Janel Highfill, Associate Vice President Workforce, Partnerships & Resource Development, Community College of Aurora. 

ACOP minutes and resources can be found on the ACOP Microsoft Teams site. 

This community is open to any CCCS employee working to develop and implement apprenticeship programs.  To join, please email 

Committee Representatives

One to two representatives from each CCCS college as designated by the College President.

College  Representative
Arapahoe Community College Eric Dunker
Arapahoe Community College Julie Beggs
Community College of Aurora Julie Stewart
Community College of Denver Katrina Wert
Community College of Denver Fida Obeidi
Colorado Northwestern Community College Keith Peterson
Colorado Northwestern Community College Sasha Nelson
Front Range Community College Janel Highfill
Lamar Community College Larry McLemore
Morgan Community College John Prouty
Northeastern Junior College Jamie Giacomini
Otero College Rana Brown
Pueblo Community College Amanda Corum
Pikes Peak Community College Chelsy Harris
Red Rocks Community College Beverly Clark
Trinidad State College James Kynor

Meeting Schedule 2022

-Monthly update calls on the third Thursday of the month from 2pm-3pm (Feb, Mar, May, June, Aug, Sept, Nov, and Dec)
-Quarterly two-hour discussion-based convening (January, April, July and October); Via WebEx in Jan; modality TBD for other meetings

Dates  Meeting Timing
November 18, 2021 2pm – 3pm
December 16, 2021 2pm – 3pm
January 20, 2022 1pm – 3pm
February 17, 2022 2pm – 3pm
March 17, 2022 2pm – 3pm
April 21, 2022 1pm – 3pm
May 19, 2022 2pm – 3pm
June 16, 2022 2pm – 3pm
July 21, 2022 1pm – 3pm
August 18, 2022 2pm – 3pm
September 15, 2022 2pm – 3pm
October 20, 2022 1pm – 3pm
November 17, 2022 2pm – 3pm
December 15, 2022 2pm – 3pm